Calming Kpop Playlist

I was recently in a not-so-good mental place and I found myself turning to the same songs over and over to calm me down. On my phone this playlist is known simply as “Chill Vibes” but don’t feel bound to title it that in yours. I hope some of these songs can bring you the same peace they bring me.

1. D (Half Moon) – Dean

I have a soft spot for Dean because, as I’ve said in a previous post, I think he’s revolutionary in the world of Khiphop and K-R&B. Half Moon is such a perfectly soft song and it was one the first that made me truly fall in love with Dean’s music. This is the song that always manages to make me feel completely relaxed with Dean’s muted and murmuring vocals tracing their way through the verse and into the chorus.

2. Rain – BTS

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Rain is a masterpiece. Not only is it one of the most calming BTS songs–though there are many–it sounds unlike anything BTS has ever done or has done since. It sounds like a work of art made sound. As someone who has listened to Rain while watching actual rain fall, I can tell you the experience is singular.

3. Butterfly (Prologue Mix) – BTS

I can’t make any promises, but I’ll try to make this the last BTS song on the playlist. I was so pumped when I found out this was going to be on Young Forever because hearing it in the Prologue literally drove me to tears–it was that beautiful. The piano in this and the sort of empty quality to it (almost as if you’re listening to it in an open field at sunset) is so stunning.

4. Something Good – GOT7

If you follow me on Twitter (which you totally should), you’ll know I’m not the happiest camper with any GOT7 release post-Mad. I hold them to a high standard because their music isn’t exactly my style and they’ve frankly been pretty disappointing for the last few years. That said, I adore this song. It’s a gem on Flight Log: Departure and I sincerely love it. It’s sweet and mellow but in a bright way. It’s all summer love and good vibes and I can’t help but smile when I listen to it.

5. She’s Dreaming – EXO

This whole song makes me feel like I’m underwater but in the best way. It’s very relaxing. The vocals in it are impeccable–as is typical of EXO–and Chanyeol’s rap doesn’t cut through the song in the way that you would expect it to. Rather, his voice is almost hushed and it fits the overall vibe really nicely.

6. B612 – Oh My Girl

I’ll go into this album more in depth in my Perfect Album Series but this song is a personal favorite of mine. It’s much calmer than the other songs on the album and is supposed to a be a profession of love for the Miracles. The title comes from The Little Prince, which I loved as a child, and it’s fitting for this ethereal, dreamy piece.

7. Galaxy – Ladies Code

I discovered this song recently thanks to a YouTube playlist and I’m so grateful because it is honestly one of the best songs I’ve ever heard period. Their vocals are unique and syrupy and the whole song sounds very jazzy, very blue-toned-midnight-in-the-city vibes.

8. Hangang – Hoody

This song is quintessential summer vibes. It’s driving your car by the water and feeling the wind in your hair. Hoody has some of the prettiest vocals in Kpop and I adore pretty much anything she puts out, but this song has such calming qualities. I feel like singing along every time she says “Feel the sunshine and the sea.”

9. Sunday – GroovyRoom

Sunday is one of the more upbeat songs on this playlist but it is so relaxing. There is something about the combination of Jay Park and Heize’s vocals that just put me at ease. It’s the first song on my playlist–and with good reason. It puts my mind in a chill state and I love every listen.

10. Eat – Zion.T

This list would not be complete without this track. Not only is it incredibly calming but the lyrics themselves are actually super sweet and encouraging. I listen to this song whenever I’m stressed out and I instantly feel better. It really is food for the soul and I’m thankful to Zion.T for it.

Comments

4 responses to “Calming Kpop Playlist”

  1. kwenzqoatl Avatar

    I’m not one to listen to “calming” music much but Butterfly is definitely on my shortlist of ones I do like. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shythom Avatar

    This is perfect timing – with the cold season upon us here in Canada, I do get into these chill-out phases where I want subdued and calming music. I’ll check out some of your recommendations of ones I have not listened to yet. Rain and Butterfly are great!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shythom Avatar

    I am back here – wanted to add BTS’ hidden track “Sea” because I can’t stop listening to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kbopsinkpop Avatar

      That’s a favorite of mine too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment